Skip to content

Salmon Burgers

June 28, 2011

I’m sticking with the 4th of July theme for this week. While I love a good burger and hot dog at any BBQ, sometimes it’s nice to change it up a bit. I have made salmon burgers before, using different recipes each time, but they were never quite what I was looking for. Some would fall apart easily, others were just…blah. When I saw this recipe in Food Network Magazine, June 2011 issue, I couldn’t resist trying it out. I think I found a keeper! These salmon burgers were delicious, and I will definitely keep using this recipe. Next time I will add some hot sauce and soy sauce and I think they will be just about perfect.

Makes 4 burgers. Patties need to be refrigerated before cooking, so plan accordingly.

You’ll need:

1 1/4 pound salmon fillet

2 tbsp dijon mustard

1 tbsp mayo

1 tbsp lemon juice

1/2 tsp lemon zest

pinch of cayenne

2 scallions, chopped

1C +2tbsp panko

S&P

2 tbsp olive oil, plus more for brushing

bakery buns

Arugula and Tarter sauce for topping

Take 3/4 of your salmon and cut it into bite size chunks. Put chunks in large bowl. Chunk up the rest of the salmon and put into a food processor with the mustard, mayo, lemon juice and zest, and cayenne. Pulse until you form a paste.

Combine all salmon together in the large bowl and add scallions, 2tbsp panko and salt and pepper. Mix.

Line a baking sheet with parchment paper and brush with olive oil. With damp hands, form salmon into 4 patties. I found the patties to be quite wet, but that’s okay. Cover and refrigerate for 30-60 minutes. I refrigerated mine for about 2 hours and found they had really set well and did not fall apart at all when I was cooking them.

Heat olive oil in nonstick pan over medium-high heat. While the oil is heating, pour 2C panko in shallow dish and roll each burger until completely coated in the panko. Cook burgers until nice and brown, about 2-4 minutes each side. Drain on paper towel.

Toast buns if you like, and serve immediately with tarter sauce and arugula.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

