Skip to content

Iced Coffee

August 30, 2011

Have you heard of  The Pioneer Woman? I have been a big fan of her blog for several months, and was excited to hear that she has a new show on Food Network. (It’s on Saturday mornings–be sure to watch it!) When she posted the recipe for her Perfect Iced Coffee on her blog, I immediately went to the store to buy a bag of ground decaf coffee. (I decided to make it decaf since this is an afternoon treat for me.) Her coffee/water ratio was a bit strong for me, so I changed it slightly. Here’s how I make mine (which earns high praises from my friends).

Ingredients:

1 bag of 110z ground coffee

2 gallons cold water

a pot big enough to hold the 2 gallons of water

cheesecloth or paper towels

fine mesh strainer

1-2 pitchers for the finished coffee

Empty the bag of coffee into your big pot. I use a big stainless stock pot. Pour 2 gallons of cold water in and give it a quick stir. Cover and let it sit all day, or overnight. Line a fine mesh strainer with cheesecloth or a double layer of paper towels. Pour coffee mixture through the strainer. I strain it into a big mixing bowl, then empty it into pitchers when the bowl is full. It takes a couple rounds of this until everything is strained. Toss the paper towel mess and you’re left with a whole lot of perfect coffee!

I read somewhere that when you cold brew the coffee, it’s less bitter. I like this method much better than brewing hot coffee and refrigerating it.

To make the iced coffee, fill your glass with lots of ice and coffee. I add a bit of vanilla creamer–no sugar needed–and I’m done. This recipe will last me about 2 weeks. Keep your coffee covered in the refrigerator to help it last.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

