Skip to content

Tomato Basil Parmesan Soup

October 6, 2011

Fall is my favorite season, but it also makes me miss living in New York more than usual. When I lived in NYC, I would go to Sunberrys Cafe every day. (60th, between Park and Lex) Sunberrys was right around the corner from where I worked and it had the best Tomato Basil Parmesan soup. I would stop in most mornings for a bagel and tea, and scope out the lunch menu hoping to see that my favorite soup was listed.

Now I’ve moved across the country into a very warm climate. Yesterday we had a chilly rainy day–the first one since…I can’t even remember. I started thinking about New York and my friends that I haven’t seen in several years and decided to try to recreate this delicious soup. I made a few changes to this recipe, adding in the parmesan and switching a few of the ingredients around.

Ingredients:

olive oil

1 red onion, chopped

2 carrots, chopped

3 garlic cloves, chopped

5-6 vine-ripened tomatoes, chopped

1 tsp sugar

1 tbsp tomato paste

¼ cup packed fresh basil leaves, chopped

3 cups chicken broth

salt & pepper

¾ cup heavy cream

parmesan cheese, freshly grated

bread or croutons to garnish

Heat a bit of olive oil in big soup pot over medium heat. Saute onions and carrots until tender, about 10-15 minutes. Add garlic and cook another minute. Next add the tomatoes, sugar, tomato paste, basil, chicken broth, salt and pepper. Bring the soup to a boil, then simmer uncovered for 30 minutes. Add cream and simmer another 5 minutes.

You can do this next step in several different ways.

Blend soup into your desired consistency using a blender, food mill or immersion blender. Place the newly blended soup into a large mixing bowl, then strain it back into the soup pot over low heat. (Discard the leftover dry pulp.)

Grate parmesan cheese directly into your soup bowl before eating, and be sure to have a hunk of good bakery bread on the side.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Frank permalink
    January 28, 2012 11:11 am

    Not sure of who you are but I am a co-owner of Sunberrys and I wanted to thank you for your kind words. I am sorry to hear that you no longer live in the area. However, if you are ever in NYC please let me know as I would like to personally thank you. All the best on your journey out west…..

    • January 29, 2012 1:39 pm

      Thank you so much for your comment, I will definitely stop by Sunberrys on my next trip to NYC. I’ve got lots of friends who still stop in every morning on their way to work. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

