Skip to content

Pear Crisp

October 21, 2011

This week I received 6 pears in my organic delivery box, and decided to make pear crisp. I used this recipe, but changed it since the recipe also includes apples. I just used pears, and halved the rest of the ingredients. Of course, you could do any combination of pears, apples, etc. If you’re using more than 6 pieces of fruit, I would either double my recipe below, or refer to the original recipe (link is above). Serve warm with vanilla ice cream and it can’t be beat. (This is not homemade ice cream–it’s the first ice cream I have purchased in the store since getting my ice cream maker. It pained me to do this!)

Ingredients:

6 ripe pears, peeled, cored and cut into chunks

1 tsp orange zest

1 tsp lemon zest

freshly squeezed orange juice, half orange

freshly squeezed lemon juice, half lemon

¼ cup sugar

2-3 tbsp flour

sprinkle of cinnamon and nutmeg

Topping Ingredients:

¾ cup flour

¼ cup sugar

¼ cup brown sugar

½ cup old-fashioned oatmeal

1 stick cold butter, diced

sprinkle of salt

Preheat oven to 350. Combine the pears, zests, juices, sugar, flour and spices in a large bowl. Pour into baking dish. Next, combine the topping ingredients and mix until you get large crumbles. You can use a paddle attachment on your electric mixer, or I just used a wooden spoon. Sprinkle the topping over the fruit mixture and bake for about 50 minutes, or until the top is brown and fruit is bubbly. Serve warm with ice cream or fresh whipped cream.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

