Skip to content

Apple Rutabaga Soup

January 19, 2012

A friend sent me this recipe and I have to admit I was a little hesitant about trying it. What’s a rutabaga?

Fast forward a bit…and this is my absolute favorite soup I’ve made this season. As soon as the vegetables began to simmer away, I knew this was going to be a winner. That’s how good it smelled while it cooked! This was my lunch and dinner for several days in a row and I was sorry when I drained the last bowl. I need to make it again immediately!

Here’s how I made it (I changed it slightly from this):

Ingredients:

butter, ½ cup

1 onion, chopped

1 large Granny Smith apple, peeled, cored and chopped

1 rutabaga, peeled and chopped

½ of one butternut squash, peeled, seeded and chopped

3 carrots, chopped

1 sweet potato, chopped

1 quart chicken broth

2 cups heavy cream

¼ cup maple syrup (use real syrup if you have it)

salt, pepper, cayenne pepper to season

In large soup pot, melt butter and cook the onion, apple, rutabaga, squash, carrots and sweet potato until the onions are tender. Add the chicken broth and bring to a boil, then reduce the heat and simmer until all the vegetables are cooked.

Puree the vegetables in a blender or food processor (or use immersion blender). Strain everything through a fine mesh strainer before returning back to the soup pot. Use a spatula to mash as much through the strainer. Discard the pulp.

Add the cream and maple syrup, then bring the soup to a gentle simmer. Season with salt, pepper and cayenne pepper before serving.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Jodi permalink
    January 19, 2012 10:09 am

    So glad you loved it too!

Leave a Reply

