Skip to content

Red Velvet Cheesecake

February 6, 2012

How could I not love combining my two favorite desserts–cheesecake and red velvet? I made this as a Valentine’s treat–but there is no chance it will last until the 14th. This is the first  time I’ve made a chocolate graham cracker crust, which was so simple and so much better than the store-bought crusts (which always break before I get them home). I followed this recipe, from this months’ Food Network Magazine. I didn’t get as much “swirl” on the top of the cheesecake as I would have liked. The batter is split into 2 layers–the cheesecake layer and the red velvet layer. The red velvet gets poured into the crust first, then the cheesecake layer. To get the swirl look, you use a spoon to bring some of the red up to the surface, then gently swirl it around. I brought too much red batter up to the top and over-mixed it. I also had better luck using a toothpick over the spoon to do the actual swirling.

If you’re looking for other delicious Valentine treats, check out some of these recipes from my archives: Mocha Pots de Creme or these Chocolate Cookies would be cute as a sandwich with pink or red frosting.

Plate from MacKenzie-Childs

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

