Skip to content

Abuelita Chocolate Ice Cream

April 10, 2012

Recently I picked up a box of the Abuelita chocolate to use as a short-cut when I make Mexican Hot Chocolate (I posted the full recipe here). Last week I was planning to make regular chocolate ice cream but then decided to use the Abeulita as my chocolate base. This is one of my favorite ice creams ever! It satisfies my chocolate craving but has an extra spicy cinnamon kick. I looked at a couple different chocolate ice cream recipes as  guidelines to make my own, here’s how I made it:

Ingredients:

1½ C whole milk

1½ C heavy cream

2 Abuelita tablets, chopped

3 egg yolks, room temperature if possible

2 tbsp sugar

1 tsp vanilla

In a small saucepan, melt the chocolate with the milk and cream. Mix until completely melted and warm. In a small mixing bowl, combine the egg yolks, sugar and vanilla. Add about ¼ cup of the warm chocolate mixture to the eggs, stirring constantly. Add another ¼ cup and continue stirring. Now put the warm egg mixture back into the warm chocolate and cook until it begins to thicken up, stirring constantly. When it thickens, strain the mixture into a bowl and refrigerate for at least 3 hours. Transfer it to your ice cream maker and use accordingly.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

