Skip to content

DIY Jewelry Frame

May 3, 2012

Jewelry boards have been popping up on my Pinterest and blogs that I visit. My jewelry drawer has become a tangled mess so I thought I’d give this DIY project a try. It was very simple to make and I’m loving the end result. Here’s how I did it…

What You’ll Need:

frame (size of your choice)

spray paint (your choice–I used a glossy black)

cardboard backing (if your frame doesn’t come with it)

heavy-weight felt (measured slightly larger than the framing space)

fabric for the top (this is the fabric that will be visible. I used a solid cream-colored linen. Measure it slightly larger than the framing space)

staple gun

push pins

iron

This is the frame I started with. I found it in the clearance section at Marshalls because it was chipped in several places. Since I was planning to paint it black, the chipped paint was not a big deal. Remove the glass and all the backing before painting. I sprayed 2 coats of glossy black.

While the frame is drying, spread out the felt and other fabric piece with the cardboard backing on top. Cut the fabric slightly larger than the cardboard backing. After the fabric pieces are cut, iron them if needed.

Next layer your fabric with the linen (or whatever you’re using as your visible fabric) on the bottom, the felt and the cardboard on top. Use the staple gun to secure the fabric onto the cardboard. Be sure to pull the fabric very tight–you don’t want any wrinkles. The corners should be as smooth as possible, but the frame will likely hide any imperfections.

Note: When you’re stapling, try to stay fairly close to the edge. You might notice in the picture below that some of my staple marks are visible from the front. This didn’t bother me–I knew when I hung my jewelry that the marks wouldn’t show.

When your frame is dry, insert the fabric section into the frame and secure.

I chose a simple T-pin (purchased at Staples) to hang my jewelry. I wasn’t sure if the cardboard/felt combination was going to be strong enough to hold the pin and a heavy necklace. It works just fine–but because the T-pins are longer than regular push pins, they do go all the way through the cardboard and out the back of the frame. I was always planning to lean my frame against a wall, so this is okay with me. If you’re planning to hang your frame, you will need a shorter push pin that doesn’t go all the way through the board. Or you could purchase a piece of cork to use as your backboard instead of using cardboard. (Purchasing a piece of cork from Home Depot was my backup plan if the cardboard didn’t work.)

And here’s the finished product–this was fun to make and looks great too!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 3, 2012 10:16 am

    great idea. Love it!

Leave a Reply

