Skip to content

Mint Chocolate Chip Ice Cream

July 31, 2012

Most people will make a special trip to the grocery store when they are out of bread or milk. Or wine. Growing up, we made special trips to the store to get more ice cream. It could be 7:00 at night and my dad would go to the store just to pick up more Breyers. I would always request Breyers Mint Chocolate Chip. It’s so crisp and minty with slivers of chocolate throughout. I refuse to eat any other mint chip ice cream–it must be white (not minty green) and it has to be made by Breyers. It has been my favorite flavor since I can remember.

I’ve tried several times to make it using real mint leaves, but it never tasted quite right. Recently I picked up this book which has a recipe for mint chip ice cream using peppermint extract. I am so glad I gave it a try because it came out exactly like Breyers! The only thing I changed from the recipe was not adding the green food coloring.

Ingredients:

2 cups milk

2 cups heavy cream

1 cup sugar

1½ tsp vanilla

1 tbsp peppermint extract

pinch of salt

1 cup chocolate, finely chopped

Mix all ingredients together in a large bowl (except the chocolate), then refrigerate for a few hours. Later, freeze the mixture in your ice cream maker. Add the chocolate near the end of the freezing process.

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 2, 2012 5:20 am

    hoping phil follows your blog ?!
    xo
    mom

Leave a Reply

