Skip to content

Tiramisu Ice Cream

August 29, 2012

Tiramisu is one of the few desserts I order in a restaurant, so when I saw this post for tiramisu ice cream, I had to make it. Immediately. The recipe originally comes from David Lebovitz, who creates amazing ice cream flavors (and all desserts in general). His ice cream cookbook is sitting in my Amazon cart, ready for my next order.

I’ve made this tiramisu ice cream (or boozy ice cream, as I tend to call it) three times lately. David’s recipe has a chocolate ripple sauce that you layer in between the ice cream when you freeze it. The first two times I made it, I never got it to completely freeze and it ended up puddling in the corners of my ice cream carton. (It tasted amazing but didn’t make for good pictures.) This last time, I just made and froze the ice cream–then cheated by putting chocolate syrup on it. Whether you make the chocolate ripple layer or top with chocolate syrup, you definitely need some chocolate flavor with this rich ice cream.

This is one ice cream that I plan to keep stocked in my freezer–it’s that good!

Ice Cream Ingredients:

2 cups mascarpone

1 cup half & half

2/3 cup sugar

½ tsp vanilla

¼ cup kahlua

3 tbsp dark rum (I used Myers’s Rum)

Combine all ingredients in a blender and mix until smooth. Chill for at least 3 hours before freezing in your ice cream maker.

Chocolate Ripple Ingredients:

½ cup sugar

1/3 cup light corn syrup

½ cup water

6 tbsp cocoa powder, unsweetened

½ tsp vanilla

1 tbsp instant coffee granules

Mix the sugar, corn syrup, water and cocoa powder together in a saucepan over medium heat. Continue to stir until the mixture is smooth and comes to a low boil. Cook for 1 minute, then remove from heat and add the vanilla and coffee. Refrigerate for at least 3 hours before freezing with the ice cream.

When the ice cream and chocolate are thoroughly chilled, freeze the ice cream in your ice cream maker. When it’s finished, alternate layers of ice cream and chocolate in your freezer carton. Let the chocolate set and freeze before serving.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

