Skip to content

Basil Macerated Peaches

September 14, 2012

I have a friend who is a personal chef. Last week she hosted a cooking class for 7, and the theme was “Family Friendly Dinners.” This is a genius idea! She cooked 6 recipes for us and I loved them all. The first recipe I made at home was that night’s dessert. I admit I was a bit skeptical when I initially saw peaches and basil together, but I absolutely loved this dish. Serve it with creme fraiche and you will impress anyone who tries it. I know I was!

Ingredients:

4 peaches (ripe, but firm), peeled, pitted and sliced

2 cups (loosely packed) basil, chopped

zest from 1 lime

1 cup water

½ cup sugar

creme fraiche, for topping

Place the peaches and basil in a medium bowl and set aside. In a small saucepan, bring the water, sugar and lime zest to a boil. Stir to dissolve the sugar, then lower the heat and simmer for 2 minutes. It will begin to thicken into a syrup. Pour the syrup over the peaches. Cover and chill in the refrigerator for 2 hours. Serve cold with creme fraiche.

Recipe from Leslie the Chef

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Carla permalink
    September 14, 2012 10:11 am

    Cannot wait to see you

    Sent from my iPhone

Leave a Reply

