Skip to content

Pasta, Kale and White Bean Soup

November 12, 2012

I saw the recipe for this soup in this months’ Food Network Magazine. It’s a delicious and hearty soup that’s ready in less than an hour. I will be making this again, but next time I will change the recipe slightly. As I was making it, I was questioning the 2 cups chicken broth to 6 cups water for the broth–that seemed watery to me. I should have gone with my gut feeling, because the broth did turn out too bland and watery for my liking. Next time I’ll use all chicken broth (no water) or a combination of chicken stock with a bit of water. I also added more bacon than the recipe said, and I think that was a good call. You can never have too much bacon.

This is how I’ll make the soup next time–

Ingredients:

6-8 slices bacon, chopped

1 small onion, chopped

3 carrots, chopped

2 cloves garlic, minced

1 tbsp tomato paste

1 tsp fresh thyme, chopped

salt and pepper

6 cups chicken broth

½ cup freshly grated parmesan, plus the rind

1½ cups small pasta (I used mini penne)

1 15-oz can white beans, drained and rinsed

1 cup kale, chopped

In a large stock pot, cook the bacon over medium heat until crisp. Add the onion and cook until tender. Next add the carrots, garlic, tomato paste and thyme and cook until the carrots begin to soften, about 3-4 minutes. Add the chicken broth and parmesan rind, then bring the soup to a boil. Add the pasta and beans and continue to boil for about 5 minutes. Reduce the soup to a simmer and add the kale. Let the soup simmer for another 5 minutes, remove the parmesan rind, stir in ¼ cup grated parmesan and season with salt and pepper. Serve while hot, garnish with remaining parmesan.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

