Skip to content

Macarons

November 21, 2012

A sweet friend of mine made these macarons and I was lucky enough to snag a few of them! I’ve never attempted to make macarons before, but after having these I am so inspired to give them a try. I have done a little research online about how to make them and it is a little overwhelming–so many strategies and flavors to try.

The flavors above are a lemon with lemon curd  filling and vanilla with vanilla bean filling. They were so delicious!

I’m still deciding what flavor to make (I’m going back and forth between vanilla bean, chocolate or raspberry) but this will be a perfect project for this weekend. I’ll keep you posted–no matter how they turn out. Any tips would be greatly appreciated, thanks!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 26, 2012 12:23 pm

    Thanks Jaime, this is a big help!

  2. jaime permalink
    November 26, 2012 8:59 am

    😉
    tartelette,bravetart,notsohumblepie and foodnouveau all have some good tips.
    I’m probably repeating what you’ve already read but, it’s all in the whipping of the eggwhites and folding the batter. Anything too much or too little causes disasters. I use a hand mixer and beat the eggwhites until med.stiff and watch the batter as I’m folding so I don’t overfold and make it too runny.As your mixing lift your spatula and if it falls in clumps it’s not mixed enough,keep mixing until it gently runs off your spatula in ribbons and falls back on itself in 20-30 seconds. If it runs back into itself any quicker that that it’s overmixed.
    Things that are a must for me:
    *add coloring to the eggwhites midway
    *weigh everything
    *if grinding own almonds dry them out
    *once piped set out for 15-30 min(depending how dry the air is)
    Things that I have not done and they still come out:
    *tapping the trays to get out air bubbles
    *ageing the eggwhites
    most of the time I do these things but, have not and the macarons still work out

Leave a Reply

