Skip to content

Sweet Brown Bread

November 27, 2012

Last week I found myself having lunch with my family at The Cheesecake Factory. The best part of lunch was the warm bread that was brought out when we arrived at our table. They call it “brown wheat bread” but it’s more than that–it’s got a sweetness to it that is really good. We all agreed I should try to make it at home. I googled it and found this recipe which I made a few changes to. The bread came out wonderfully and I will definitely be making it again.

Ingredients:

¾ cup warm water

1 tsp instant coffee

¼ cup molasses

1 ½-2 cups flour

½ cup wheat flour

2 tsp sugar

2 tsp cocoa

½ tsp salt

1¼ tsp yeast (about ½ packet)

1 egg (for egg wash)

oats (to sprinkle on the top of the bread)

Dissolve the coffee in the warm water in the bowl of your stand mixer. Add the yeast and let it sit for about 5 minutes, until it is foamy. (If it doesn’t foam up, start over with fresh yeast.)

Add the sugar, cocoa, salt and mix. Add the molasses and half of the flour. Knead (by hand or with your dough hook on a stand mixer). Continue adding the flour, little by little. You want the dough to be a bit sticky, but workable. Knead until the dough is nice and smooth.

Roll it into a ball, place it in a bowl and cover with a tea towel to rise. It should double in size within an hour or so. After rising, punch it down and put it into a loaf pan. Brush with egg wash and sprinkle with oats (optional). Cover and let it rise again.

Bake at 350° for 25-30 minutes. Test doneness by tapping on the bread–if it sounds hollow, it is done. Let cool for a few minutes in the pan, then remove it and finish cooling on a wire rack.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Tina permalink
    September 27, 2013 1:58 pm

    what kind of instant coffee did you use? I’m trying to surprise my boyfriend with a home cooked meal next weekend! 😀

    • September 27, 2013 2:18 pm

      I used Medaglia D’oro instant espresso coffee. But any brand will work. Enjoy!!

      • Tina permalink
        October 3, 2013 7:31 pm

        THANK YOU SO MUCH!! I’m super excited to try this out now!! ❤

  2. Nina permalink
    May 12, 2013 9:11 pm

    I made this recipe today and it tastes a lot like the bread served at the Cheesecake Factory, but it did have WAY too much molasses. After looking at the recipe more carefully, I’m guessing it just needed more sugar, maybe 2 teaspoons is a typo and it’s supposed to be 2 tablespoons? Either way, this recipe is a keeper and I’ll be making it again!

    • May 13, 2013 6:32 am

      Thank you, I’m glad you liked the bread! I haven’t made it in awhile, so I don’t remember the exact sugar measurement that I used. I did notice that the original recipe calls for tbsp, where I wrote tsp…good catch! This gives me a good excuse to make it and double check my measurements. Thanks!

  3. jaime permalink
    November 28, 2012 10:41 pm

    this looks and sounds sooooo good! I’ll trade you a batch of
    macarons for a loaf of bread!

Leave a Reply

