Skip to content

The Best Chocolate Chip Cookie

January 2, 2013

BestChocChip

Happy New Year! I’m starting the year off with the BEST chocolate chip cookie you’ll ever make.  Seriously–these are (as we say in our family) epic. However, this is not the recipe to make when you need to eat a cookie immediately. The dough needs to chill in the fridge for 36 hours before baking. Stick with me, I promise these are worth it. I will admit that after 24 hours I couldn’t wait any longer, and made just 6 cookies. They were amazing–so amazing I let the rest of the dough chill up to the 36 hour mark because surely they couldn’t get better than the first batch. But they did. Coming out of the oven, the 24 hour and 36 hour cookies seemed pretty much the same. Definitely the best cookies I’ve ever made. But the day after, I thought the 36 hour cookies were better. They were much softer and had more of a caramel flavor. I make a lot of cookies week to week–so much that my kids will give them a taste when they are first baked, but then forget about them. Well, they have not forgotten about these and beg for one every time they go into the kitchen.

I followed this recipe exactly–note the ingredients are a bit different from the regular chocolate chip cookies you probably make (you’ll need cake flour, bread flour and bittersweet chocolate). One trick I learned is to make giant-size cookies. Larger cookies will be more moist and softer than smaller cookies. (I used an ice cream scoop to shape my dough.) Watch these cookies carefully while they bake. I baked each cookie sheet for about 13 minutes–they will look underdone when you remove them from the oven–do not let them brown.

Go get a batch mixed up–2 days from now you’ll be glad you did. Let me know what you think–are these the BEST chocolate chip cookies you’ve ever made?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 7, 2013 9:20 am

    Thanks for the comments everyone!

  2. Leslie permalink
    January 4, 2013 8:11 am

    I can’t wait to try these Emily!
    They look so yummy!

  3. January 3, 2013 7:04 am

    I completely agree that this recipe (The New York Times ,Jaques Torres) for chocolate chip cookies is unbeatable. It is amazing how many bloggers have come to the same conclusion after testing and trying so many others. I do have a hint though for instant gratification. I keep this frozen in dough balls at all times. Bake as many as you need straight from the freezer. When the bag of dough balls starts to get low, I make more. Now the 36 or more hours isn’t so painful 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Thanksgiving Prep | Culinary Style

Leave a Reply

