Skip to content

Spinach Smoothie with Grapes and Mango

January 23, 2013

SpinachSmoothie-2

Usually when I make a smoothie, I use yogurt and frozen fruit–but adding leafy greens is much healthier and I’ve discovered that I still like the taste. It doesn’t taste like grass! The February issue of Real Simple had 3 smoothie recipes that all use kale or spinach. I still have one more to try (the first one I made can be found here) and I’m very proud of myself for making–and liking!– these healthy recipes.

The recipe below is a bit different from Real Simple–I switched out collard greens for spinach and also added coconut milk (to get my blender going).

Ingredients:

2 tbsp fresh lime juice

2 handfuls spinach (or collard greens)

1½ cups frozen mango

1 cup green grapes

½ cup coconut milk, optional (I used unsweetened from Trader Joes)

SpinachSmoothie

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Carla Feldhamer permalink
    January 23, 2013 11:52 am

    It is hard for me to get used to drinking something dark green. It looks like bile. More power to you Em! I am in Florida.

    • January 25, 2013 7:04 am

      Ha! Trust me on this one. There are a lot of things I make that don’t make it on the blog. It’s good!!

Leave a Reply

