Skip to content

Homemade Chips & Salsa

March 14, 2013

Collages8

I made my own chips last weekend and I’ve been making them almost every day since then–they are so addicting!  All you need is corn tortillas, olive oil and salt. Brush olive oil on both sides of the tortillas, stack them up and use a pizza cutter to cut them into wedges.  Spread them out in a single layer on a baking sheet and bake at 350° for about 10 minutes, or until they are golden brown and the edges start to curl up. The first time I used 6 tortillas and that was not nearly enough chips–now I use about 10 and cook them on 2 baking sheets at the same time.

If you’re taking the time to make your own chips, you might as well make your salsa from scratch too. I have been using this recipe and I’ve made it enough that I know it by heart. Keep it tightly wrapped in your refrigerator and it stays fresh for about a week.

Tip: make this the next time you have friends over–be sure to time it so the chips are still warm from the oven when they arrive.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

