Skip to content

Favorites: Books

April 12, 2013

AprilBooks

1. Blackberry Winter by Sarah Jio

2. Dark Places by Gillian Flynn (this books is, well, dark, but I got hooked)

3. The Secret Keeper by Kate Morton (I have read all of Kate Morton’s books, and this is her newest release. Most of her books are about solving some sort of family secret and go between past and present day.)

4. The Art of Hearing Heartbeats by Jan-Philipp Sendker (LOVED this book)

Side Note: This spring I gave in and started watching Downton Abbey. I am not sure why I resisted it for so long, but I was immediately obsessed with the show and I am embarrassed to admit how quickly I watched all 3 seasons. I find it just fascinating–the beautiful castle, the gorgeous styling, the relationships between the staff and Crawley family, etc. If you haven’t watched it, be sure to start with Season 1. I watched Seasons 1 and 2 on the Amazon Prime video player on my iPad. I was able to record Season 3 on my DVR and watch it there.

…which brings me to “Downton-like” books!

5. The House at Tyneford by Natasha Solomons (this is a novel, and is very Downton-like except it takes place during WWII. An upper class girl flees Vienna when the war starts and becomes a parlor maid in England.)

6. The Glitter and the Gold: The American Duchess, by Consuelo Vanderbilt Balsan (I am half-way through this book and really enjoying it.)

7. Lady Almina and the Real Downton Abbey, by The Countess of Carnarvon (This is my next book to read, and I can’t wait to get started on it. It’s about the family that actually lived in Highclere Castle, where Downton Abbey is filmed.)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

