Skip to content

Banana Birthday Cake

April 15, 2013

BananaCake

This past weekend we celebrated my husband’s birthday. My husband does not like desserts (no joke) and would probably prefer to just skip the whole cake part of his birthday. But when you have kids, it’s a requirement to eat cake on birthdays. I usually get him an ice cream cake, because he will occasionally eat the ice creams that I make, but, we still have half of one in our freezer leftover from my birthday last month. Then I thought of my grandma’s banana bars. The only time I can remember my husband liking any dessert is many years ago when he tried my grandma’s banana bars with cream cheese frosting. I couldn’t believe he liked them, let alone even try them. I hadn’t made them in a while, so I thought I’d turn his favorite bars into a 3 layer birthday cake.

I managed to keep the cake a secret, so when the kids and I brought the cake out to him with blazing candles, I’m sure he was wondering why I got him a huge (probably chocolate) cake that he doesn’t like. He was pretty excited when I told him it was his favorite banana bars turned cake! He loved it and so did the boys. (Who both say they now want a banana birthday cake for their birthdays this summer.)

Ingredients: (bake in a 9×13 pan for bars, or I used 3 6-inch cake pans for a 3 layer cake)

½ cup oleo, softened

2 cups sugar

3 eggs

3 ripe bananas

1 tsp vanilla

2 cups flour

1 tsp baking soda

salt

Preheat oven to 350°. Grease baking pan(s) and set aside. Cream the oleo and sugar together. Mix in the eggs, bananas and vanilla. Combine the flour, baking soda and a pinch of salt. Add dry ingredients to the creamed mixture and mix well. Pour into prepared baking pan(s) and bake. Bars/Cake is done when an inserted toothpick comes out clean.

Cool completely before frosting. DO NOT use canned frosting–take the time to make it from scratch, it’s so much better!

Cream Cheese Frosting: (This is a doubled recipe I used to cover the entire cake. If you’re making bars in a 9×13 pan, cut this frosting recipe in half.)

1 stick butter, softened

8 oz cream cheese

2 cup confectioner’s sugar

2 tsp vanilla

Cream butter and cream cheese together, then add confectioner’s sugar and vanilla. Beat until smooth.

photo-36

 One gift I got for my husband is a ’65 Mustang that I rented for the weekend. We had such a blast driving it all around town, going out for ice cream, soccer games, date night and also taking a beautiful drive through the Angeles National Forest (the kids kept saying, “It’s like we’re driving through Radiator Springs!”).

We had such a fun birthday weekend.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 21, 2013 7:54 pm

    ps
    maybe this g’ma aud’s ?!

  2. April 20, 2013 11:53 am

    fab car, emily !
    almost an original —
    i can remember looking for them on the road, as a teenager
    and talking about every single one that went by
    what a great weekend you created —
    gonna copy and paste your text to g’ma meb
    she’ll be thrilled to hear about the cake 🙂
    xo

Leave a Reply

