Skip to content

Chorizo and Black Bean Sub

May 3, 2013

chorizo-2

I was at the library the other day and some cookbooks on display caught my eye. Since Cinco de Mayo is coming up, I checked out Mexican Everyday which is full of mouth-watering photos and recipes. I have at least 10 recipes bookmarked that I want to make before the book needs to be returned, and the first one I made is these chorizo subs. I don’t love super-spicy food, and I was worried that the chorizo would be too much for me, but it was just the right amount of heat. (My husband added a lot of hot sauce to his.)  These subs came together in about 15 minutes and I’ll definitely be making them again. (Have a panini maker? This would be awesome as a panini!)

Ingredients:

8 oz fresh chorizo (make sure you remove the casing)

1 can black beans, drained and rinsed

crusty bakery rolls

queso fresco (this is a white Mexican cheese) or other cheese

avocado

salsa, hot sauce (optional)

In a hot skillet, cook the chorizo for about 5 minutes, or until fully cooked. Add the black beans (add a drizzle of olive oil if you need some extra liquid) and stir. Keep cooking and stirring until the beans become soft, then mash them up a bit with a potato masher. The chorizo and black bean mixture will be very soft and moist. Serve immediately, while warm.

Scoop the chorizo mixture onto your bakery roll, then top with cheese, avocado and any other topping you like. Serve with a side of salsa. And a margarita.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

