Skip to content

Red Velvet Cake Ice Cream

May 9, 2013

IMG_4883

I’ve been wanting to make red velvet ice cream ever since I sampled some at our local frozen yogurt place. I tried making it once with Greek yogurt and cocoa powder, but failed miserably. Then I gave this recipe a try. This recipe is basically a vanilla base with crushed red velvet cupcakes. I mixed everything together in my blender which was a breeze. After blending, the mixture was a little grainy (from the cupcakes) which worried me, but it ended up freezing into a perfectly smooth and creamy ice cream. This ice cream is sweet–sweet enough that I can’t finish my usual heaping bowl. I prefer this with a cone, which helps to cut the sweetness. I have a feeling this will be requested over and over again this summer!

Adapted from Drizzle and Dip

Ingredients:

2 cups heavy cream

1 cup whole milk

3 tbsp sugar

1 tsp vanilla

2 tsp red food coloring

4 red velvet cupcakes (with frosting is fine)

cream cheese frosting, a few spoonfuls

In a blender, mix the cream, milk, sugar, vanilla and food coloring. Add the cupcakes and blend until smooth. (You could save a bit of cupcake to add directly into the ice cream maker if you want pieces of actual cake in your ice cream.) Refrigerate for at least 4-5 hours, or overnight before freezing in your ice cream maker. When you’re freezing the mixture, add a few spoonfuls of frosting at the end of the freezing process–this will give you ribbons of frosting throughout the ice cream.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 10, 2013 6:52 am

    Oh my does that look good!

Leave a Reply

