Skip to content

Baked Chicken with Mustard Sauce

May 31, 2013

mustardchicken-2

I came across this recipe on Pinterest and I’ve made it twice just this week. You can find the original recipe here–I had to change it slightly because I didn’t have all the right ingredients for the mustard sauce. My version still came out delicious and even better is that my boys liked it. They even had seconds! Next time I make it, which will be soon, I will follow the exact recipe for the mustard sauce.

Here’s how I made it:

Ingredients:

chicken (I used 3 boneless chicken breasts that I sliced in half lengthwise)

½ cup mustard (I used Boars Head Deli Style Mustard which is the only mustard I had–the original recipe is very specific about using Dijon. I wouldn’t recommend using plain yellow mustard.)

¼ cup real maple syrup (honey or agave nectar would be worth a try if you don’t have real maple syrup)

1 tbsp rice wine vinegar

pinch of salt and pepper

1 tbsp cornstarch

2 tbsp fresh rosemary

Preheat oven to 425°. Whisk the mustard, maple syrup, rice wine vinegar, salt and pepper together. Put the chicken in your baking dish (I used 8×8) and pour the mustard mixture over top of it. You don’t want a lot of extra room in your baking dish for the sauce to spread out and cook off.

Bake for about 20 minutes, or until the chicken is cooked throughout. You will have to adjust your cooking time depending on the cut of your chicken–I cut my chicken breasts thin so they would cook quickly.

When the chicken is finished, remove it from the baking dish and set aside. There should be lots of mustard sauce left in the pan. Stir the cornstarch into the leftover sauce, then drizzle it over the chicken. If you want a thicker sauce, add a little more cornstarch. Sprinkle with rosemary and serve immediately.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

