Skip to content

Chocolate Brownie Ice Cream

June 24, 2013

ChocBrownieIceCream

Lately I have been making a LOT of ice cream. Sometimes 2 flavors in one day (I highly recommend having an extra freezer bowl!). Mostly I make vanilla or chocolate ice cream with stuff in it–crushed cookies, candy bars, etc. Why not use brownie bites? My grocery store makes the best chewy brownie bites and I figured they’d be perfect in ice cream. I made chocolate ice cream, but as it was spinning I noticed that it wasn’t very dark in color. After checking the recipe, I realized I only put in ¼ cup of cocoa powder (the recipe calls for ¾ cup). It still tastes great (the mild chocolate flavor reminds of a Wendy’s frosty) and is disappearing very fast.

Ingredients: (this is the chocolate ice cream that comes with the Cuisinart ice cream maker recipe booklet)

¾ cup cocoa powder (or ¼ cup works too!)

½ cup sugar

1/3 cup brown sugar, packed

1 cup whole milk

2 cups heavy cream

½ tbsp vanilla

pinch of salt

about 2 cups brownies, cut into small pieces

Put all ingredients (except the brownie pieces) in a blender and blend until smooth. Refrigerate for a few hours, then freeze in your ice cream maker. Add the brownie pieces during the last 5 minutes of freezing.

ChocBrownieIceCream2

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

