Skip to content

Lemon Basil Sorbet

July 9, 2013

LemonBasilSorbet

If you’re a frequent Culinary Style reader, then you know I make a LOT of ice cream. I scour Pinterest, magazines and other food blogs looking for my next flavor to make. I’ve got my usual flavors that I always keep on hand, but I like to make some special ones every now and then as well. I saw the recipe for this Lemon Basil Sorbet in the recipe booklet that came with my Cuisinart ice cream maker. It caught my eye because I was looking for a way to use up some of my basil from my garden.

This sorbet turned out wonderfully (bonus: the kids aren’t interested in it at all, so this one has my name on it), it is very refreshing and the basil gives it an unexpected twist. Next time I make it, I might try to make it a bit less sweet and more tart (like lemonade) by using less of the simple syrup.

Ingredients: (recipe from Cuisinart Recipe Booklet)

3 cups water

2 cups sugar

1 tbsp + 1 tbsp lemon zest

1½ cups fresh basil

3 cups fresh lemon juice

pinch of salt

Make a lemon simple syrup with the water, sugar and 1 tbsp of lemon zest. In a saucepan, cook them over medium heat until the sugar is dissolved. Remove from heat and add the fresh basil and a pinch of salt. Let it steep at room temperature for about 30 minutes. Next, add the lemon juice and refrigerate for at least 2 hours or up to overnight.

Strain the chilled mixture through a fine mesh strainer, then freeze in your ice cream maker. Add the last tbsp of lemon zest in the last few minutes of churning. Serve immediately, or place in your freezer. This sorbet will eventually freeze very hard, so remove it from the freezer about 15-20 minutes before scooping.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

