Skip to content

Energy Bites

August 29, 2013

energybites

One morning last week after playing tennis, one of my friends passed around these energy bites that she had made. They totally hit the spot and when she sent me the recipe later that morning, I made them immediately. My boys LOVE them (they compare them to cookie dough) and take them in their lunch to school. We ate up the first batch very quickly, so now I double it when I make them. You can’t go wrong with the ingredients: peanut butter, honey, flax seed, chia seeds, coconut, mini chocolate chips, etc. You can also add in anything else you like–raisins, dried fruit, nuts, etc.

You can find the original recipe here. The blog also has other energy bites variations–nutella, pumpkin and trail mix. I will definitely be trying those as well!

*This is the doubled recipe with a few other options.

2 cups dry oatmeal (I use quick-oats)

1 1/3 cup coconut flakes (toast them for extra flavor)

1 cup peanut butter

1 cup ground flaxseed

½-1 cup chocolate chips (I use the mini)

2/3 cup honey (I ran out of honey and also used agave nectar)

2 tbsp chia seeds

2 tsp vanilla

Mix everything together and then chill the dough for an hour. Roll the chilled dough into balls (I use a small cookie scoop so they are all the same size) and keep them in an airtight container. Keep them chilled.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

