Skip to content

Fried Pickles

October 1, 2013

Fried Pickles-2

There’s a local restaurant where we order fried pickles every time we go. What’s not to love about a fried pickle? Hot, crispy and dunked in ranch dressing…they are delicious! I’ve always wanted to try making them at home (they’re a perfect football-watching food!) because our family loves them so much. I finally made them this weekend, and they were a hit.  I used dill chips, which were very easy to fry up but took forever to work my way through frying up the entire jar. Next time I’ll use spears.

Directions:

In a heavy bottom pan (I used my dutch oven), heat about an inch or two of vegetable oil to about 200°. (I used a candy thermometer to help keep my oil at a consistent temperature.) While the oil heats up, begin mixing the batter. Start with 1 cup of flour and add in any seasonings you like. I added salt, pepper, garlic and onion powder, cayenne pepper, celery salt, ground mustard, etc. Mix the seasonings into the flour, then add 1 cup of water. The batter should be pretty thick and will coat the pickles nicely. Add a few more tablespoons of water if you need to thin it out. Working in small batches, add some pickles into the batter and swirl them around until they are completely covered in batter. Using tongs, gently drop them into the oil. The oil should bubble and sizzle when you drop them in, but it shouldn’t be too hot where oil is splattering all over. Fry the pickles until they are nice and brown and the breading is crispy. Remove them with a slotted spoon (I have this handy tool) and set them on a paper towel to cool slightly before eating. Serve with ranch dressing.

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 1, 2013 9:25 am

    i gotta gotta !!

Leave a Reply

