Skip to content

Junior Chefs

October 3, 2013

photo 2-7

Have you seen the show Master Chef Junior? We watched it as a family and we were all on the edge of our seats. Those kids have some major culinary skills! They made fresh pasta. A girl made fish tacos including shells from scratch. Another girl made a chocolate lava cake and I was about to have a panic attack waiting for the judge to cut into it.  One kid made macarons which turned out perfectly. My son said, “Mom! Aren’t those the cookies you keep trying to make but ruin them every time?”

Anyway, this show is pure gold. You must watch.

My boys were so inspired after watching that they asked if they could make dinner last night. Typically they don’t have much interest in baking or cooking, so I was thrilled with this request. They both wanted to make pasta–one wanted spaghetti and the other wanted to make cheese (sorry, three cheese) ravioli. They helped from start to finish and I encouraged them to do as much themselves as they wanted. Normally when I make fresh pasta, I can whip it out in about 20 minutes. With them, it took ALL afternoon. But that’s okay! They were so proud of the dinner that they made and I think we are all looking forward to doing it again.

photo 1-6freshly grated parmesan

photo 3-2

photo 5

Three Cheese Ravioli: (ricotta, parmesan and fontina)

Spaghetti with roasted tomatoes, olive oil and basil

Recipe for fresh pasta is here.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 5, 2013 8:22 am

    That is so wonderful! I can’t wait to see what other dishes your boys try their hands at! 🙂 I hope my own munchkins do the same one day! P.S. I see you have the pasta attachment for your KitchenAid. How do you like it?

    • October 16, 2013 12:48 pm

      Thank you! I love the kitchen aid pasta maker. I used a manual one before which I also liked. The kitchen aid makes the process go a lot faster. I highly recommend!

  2. October 3, 2013 5:44 pm

    lovelovelove those little hands at work !

  3. Kate permalink
    October 3, 2013 10:57 am

    Love it! Looks delicious!!!

Leave a Reply

