Skip to content

Crock Pot Chicken

October 30, 2013

Image-2

I have been hearing about people cooking whole chickens in their crock pots. Honestly, to me the idea of putting a whole chicken in a crock pot sounded a little weird. Plus, I figured my ancient crock pot was too small to fit a whole chicken. Then one day I just tried it after a friend insisted. I admit it’s a tight squeeze in my crock pot (Santa? You listening? I’d like a big fancy crock pot this year!) but I shoved the chicken in and let it go. Six hours later, I couldn’t believe how good it turned out and kicked myself for not giving in sooner. The chicken was AMAZING. I couldn’t believe how moist and juicy it was–the chicken just fell apart in my tongs as I tried to remove it from the crock pot. The meat shreds itself, and you can get 2-3 dinners from it. I’ve been living on chicken salads for lunch, and for dinner making enchiladas, quesadillas, burritos and soups.

Trust me on this one, just give this a try and I bet you’ll find yourself (like me) doing this once a week. It’s just too easy not too.

Here’s how you do it:

one chicken, rinsed and patted dry (make sure to remove the giblets baggie)

salt and pepper (and any other seasonings you like)

Sprinkle salt and pepper all over the chicken and rub it in. Put the chicken in your crock pot. DO NOT put any water, broth or other liquid in there, JUST the chicken. (Trust me, you’ll see.) Cook on low for about 6 hours, or high for 2-3. The chicken is done when the meat is falling apart. Shred the meat (make sure to find the wishbone!). There will lots of chicken stock left in your pot. Don’t dump it out! Pour it into a freezer-safe container through a fine strainer and you’ll have homemade stock to use on another day. I usually get about 2 cups. When you pour it into the container, you’ll notice a layer of fat on the top. I let it sit out for an hour or so, then spoon off that layer before freezing.

Crock Pot Chicken2My boys making a wish and homemade (pre-bake) Halloween chicken pot pies (recipe here)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

