Skip to content

Chicken Enchiladas (that my kids will eat!)

November 6, 2013

Enchiladas

This is a recipe I use for very basic (and easy to make) chicken enchiladas. They are not spicy at all and consist of only chicken and cheese, because I want my kids to eat them. I made these last night, very spur of the moment. I assembled them around 4:45 pm, put the dish in the oven, set my oven timer to turn on at 6:00, and then went to two soccer practices. They were perfectly cooked when we got back around 6:30. Does your oven have a timer where you can program it to turn on and off at set times? I use this feature a LOT and love it. If I ever buy another oven, it must have this option. The picture above is the enchiladas pre-bake, since it was pitch-black outside when they were finished baking (I always take my food photos in natural light). You might notice there are a few wraps that are missing cheese. My youngest boy claims to not like cheese (yet his favorite food is macaroni and cheese) so I just leave it off of his. I prefer Monterey Jack for the topping, but didn’t have any, so I used cheddar.

Ingredients: (if there is not a specific amount listed, just use enough of the ingredient you need for your family–you can’t mess this up)

cooked chicken, shredded or diced into bite size pieces

flour tortillas

2½ cups chicken broth/stock

4 tbsp butter

4 tbsp flour

shredded cheese (your choice–I like Monterey Jack)

1 big can (28 oz) of green chile enchilada sauce (I always use “mild”)

sour cream (just a few spoonfuls)

Assemble the tortilla wraps in a baking pan (I use 9×13)–roll up some chicken and cheese and place it seam side down in the pan. (You can add whatever you like to your wraps–I keep it very simple for my kids.) I made about 6, which was enough for us this night. Set the pan aside.

In a saucepan over medium heat, melt the butter completely, then add the flour and whisk until smooth. Slowly pour in the chicken broth and let it bubble and thicken up. Turn the heat down and whisk in a few spoonfuls of sour cream. Remove the pan from the heat and add some of the green chile enchilada sauce. I use almost the entire 28 oz can. You can use as much as you like. Then pour the sauce over the enchilada wraps and finish with a sprinkling of shredded cheese. It’s ready to bake now at 350°, or you can cover/refrigerate it and bake later. Or, do what I do and put it in your oven and program it to start baking later.

Bake at 350° for about 25-30 minutes, or until the cheese on top is melted and sauce is bubbly.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

