Skip to content

Orchid Care

November 8, 2013

Orchid CareGive your orchids lots of natural light

I don’t know about you, but I have given up on many orchids over the years. I was never sure if they were dead or alive because they never flowered another round after I bought them, so I would just throw them away which always made me feel so guilty. What if it wasn’t dead?

Lately I’ve been having much better luck so I thought I’d share with you what’s currently working for my orchids. I’ve got 3 right now (from either Home Depot or Trader Joes) that have been cut down and I’m waiting on new blooms. Last spring, after the old flowers fell off, I found the “node” below the bloom stem and cut just above it.  Now, 4 months later, all 3 orchid plants have new growth that’s starting to show, which has never happened with any of my orchids. I must finally be doing something right!

I’ve been really paying attention to 2 simple things: sunlight and water. I now have all of my orchids in very sunny spots and they get at least 3-4 hours of direct sun daily. One of my orchids had started to get limp and wrinkly leaves, so I moved it to a sunnier spot and within a week it totally perked up and now has visible new growth. Every Sunday I give each orchid ¼ cup of water.  The orchid in my photos last bloomed in May, and is just now starting to show growth, so be patient between blooming!

Orchid Care-3Healthy looking leaves

Orchid Care-2New growth on both stems

One Comment leave one →

Trackbacks

  1. Updates | Culinary Style

Leave a Reply

