Skip to content

Thanksgiving Prep

November 18, 2013

Sour Cream Coffee CakeSour Cream Coffee Cake

QuicheQuiche

Chocolate Chip CookiesChocolate Chip Cookies

Who’s cooking Thanksgiving dinner this year? My husband and I are cooking for 10 people (maybe even a few more) but the trick this year is that we’re cooking in a rental house. We’ve stayed at this particular house before, so I am familiar with the kitchen, but it will be a little different. (I am looking forward to the double ovens though!) We’ll be in Palm Springs* for the whole holiday week! Palm Springs is an easy drive from our house, and driving allows me to bring a few kitchen tools with me in case the rental house is lacking–things like my hand mixer, extra measuring spoons and cups, zester, whisk, etc.

I like to do as much as possible ahead of time, so this weekend I did a lot of baking–and everything is in the freezer, ready to take next week. I made:

sour cream coffee cake

2 quiches (one is spicy sausage, jalapeno, black olives and cheese–the other is spinach, shallots, mushroom and cheese)

chocolate chip cookies

and today I’m making blueberry coffee cake

All of these freeze well, and will be perfect for a big breakfast (the quiche), snacking at the pool (coffee cakes) and when you need something sweet (cookies).

The rest of this week I’ll be finalizing my Thanksgiving menu (it will be pretty much the same as last year but with a few new additions) and making a few more things ahead of time, like the cranberry sauce. Because we’re on vacation, I want to prepare as much as possible ahead of time.

*Check out our last trips to Palm Springs here and here.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

