Skip to content

Mashed Chipotle Sweet Potatoes

November 20, 2013

Mashed Chipotle Sweet Potatoes

I have never liked sweet potatoes. Until now. I don’t like them in casserole form with marshmallows, roasted, or even as fries. But, last month I went to a cooking class and we learned a recipe for mashed sweet potatoes. I knew I had to at least try them to be polite, and I ended up actually liking them! There is a secret ingredient–chipotle peppers. It gives the potatoes a nice, smoky flavor and makes them a lot less sweet (at least for me). I’ve even made them a few times since the class. In fact, I’m making them as one of my side dishes for Thanksgiving this year. I’m not replacing the regular mashed potatoes, so I’ll have both.

I’m not writing out any exact measurements here–it’s hard to mess these up. I recommend lots of butter and cheese. Go slow on the milk, you can always add more to get the consistency you like. Adding some bacon pieces would be pretty good, too.

Ingredients: 

sweet potatoes, peeled and cut into chunks (I use 2 sweet potatoes when I cook for my family of 4)

butter

milk, half and half or cream

cream cheese (or mascarpone would work as well)

shredded cheddar cheese

chipotle peppers in adobe sauce, very finely minced (start with 1 or 2, and add more if you like)

garlic, very finely minced

chives, for garnish

In a large pot, boil the potatoes, drain and pour back into the pot. Mash the potatoes and add the other ingredients. Mix well and then season with salt and pepper. Serve immediately, while warm.

*For Thanksgiving day, you can keep mashed potatoes warm in your oven, set around 200°, or even in a crock pot that’s set on “warm” or the very lowest setting.

Recipe by Leslie.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

