Skip to content

Breakfast

December 5, 2013

Breakfast3

Over the last few months, I’ve given up my carb loaded breakfasts like cereal and bagels. Now I concentrate more on protein and have a green smoothie or scrambled eggs with spinach and pancetta. The result? I have much more energy throughout the morning. Typically I start my morning with a cup of coffee (I only drink about half a cup). After the school drop-off, I’ll have a smoothie before heading to the gym or yoga. If I’m spending my early morning volunteering at my boys’ school or running errands, I’ll have the eggs and spinach mid-morning. Both the smoothie and egg wrap keep me full while I run around town–no more emergency muffin orders!

Here’s how I make them:

Smoothie Ingredients:

1 cup almond milk

2 handfuls fresh spinach

1 banana, frozen

other frozen fruit: pineapple, mango, strawberry, etc.

1 heaping spoonful smooth peanut butter/almond butter

In a blender: pour the milk, then the spinach, then the frozen fruit on top. Blend until smooth, add more milk if needed.

Scrambled Egg Wrap Ingredients:

pancetta, diced (I get it at Trader Joes already diced)

2 eggs

2 handfuls fresh spinach

cheddar cheese, shredded

tortilla wrap, optional

salt and pepper

Using a skillet, cook pancetta until light golden brown. Add spinach on top and cook until wilted. In a separate bowl, beat eggs and add some shredded cheese. Pour egg mixture into the skillet and stir until scrambled. Season with salt and pepper. Serve while hot, can roll the eggs into a tortilla as well.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 10, 2013 3:15 pm

    We love to make egg wraps for breakfasts. This looks delicious, especially with the smoothie.

Leave a Reply

