Skip to content

Kids in the Kitchen: Chocolate Truffles

December 13, 2013

Chocolate Truffles

My kids love chocolate so when I told them I was planning to make chocolate truffles, they were desperate to help. We used this recipe from Food Network Magazine for mix and match truffles. The flavor possibilities are endless. Once you have your chocolate base, you can mix in any flavor extract (we used orange) along with other flavors (coffee, liquor, peanut butter, etc). After you chill the chocolate mixture, you roll the truffles in anything…crushed cookies, nuts, coconut–we used cocoa powder.

The boys helped to choose the different flavors and measure the ingredients. When it came time to form the truffles and then roll them in the cocoa, all I did was scoop the chilled chocolate out for them, so the truffles would be the same size. (If they had their choice, I think the truffles would have been the size of a tennis ball.) They’re not all perfectly shaped, but it doesn’t matter. They sure do taste good!

My boys and I had a great time making these together, so I have added a new category in my Recipe section called “Kids in the Kitchen.” My goal for 2014 is to hopefully have a nice selection of recipes that my boys and I have prepared together.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 13, 2013 6:04 pm

    esp love ur ‘kids in the kitchen’ idea — so fine !

Trackbacks

  1. Updates | Culinary Style

Leave a Reply

