Skip to content

Happy New Year

January 1, 2014

Juicing

Our favorite juice: carrot, pineapple, orange and lemon

Happy New Year! Every New Year’s Eve our family talks about our resolutions. Mine? I’ve got a few, and one is to not leave clean laundry in our upstairs hallway. I have an awful habit of taking clean clothes straight from the dryer and tossing them into the hallway to fold later. It’s horrible. I could at least dump them on our bed and leave them there. I also have a few cooking goals–first up is to successfully make macarons. I also want to make my own fresh ricotta and tiramisu (my favorite dessert yet I have never made it).

So my husband and I are starting off 2014 with a 3 day eating challenge. This idea started with my new juicer, which I love. I thought it would be fun to do a 3 day juice cleanse, because the juices we’ve been making have all been so good! Then I started reading about juice cleanses and realized that people really only drink about 6 juices a day. That’s it? I don’t think that’s for me. So I’ve modified our challenge and here’s what we’re doing.

For 3 Days: no processed foods, no pasta or bread, no alcohol, no coffee, no cheese, no red meat (only fish and chicken). Sounds super fun, right? This isn’t about losing weight, starving ourselves or dieting–it’s about making better choices and maybe we’ll find some new alternatives that we end up really liking and wouldn’t have discovered otherwise.

We’re halfway through Day 1 and so far so good.  Today I’ve been snacking on fruit and almonds, which is big change from cheese and crackers, pretzels or chips. I’m planning to make vegetable soup (a version of this) and crispy kale chips. Tonight we’re for dinner we’re having salmon with lentils.

Wish us luck!  I’ll be updating the blog with our progress.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Kate permalink
    January 1, 2014 2:14 pm

    Sounds great! Post recipes for the 3days!

Leave a Reply

