Skip to content

How to Revive Wilted Hydrangeas

April 22, 2014

Hydrangeas

Hydrangeas are one of my most favorite flowers. I would love to have an enormous hedge in my yard but since I don’t have a good spot for one, I settle for cut stems from the grocery store. So why do they look great in the store but after a day at home in a vase there is always at least one stem that completely wilts? It happens every time and makes me crazy.

A quick Google search yields a lot of tips, and I tried the ones that popped up the most consistently. Here’s what I tried, what didn’t work, and what finally revived my wilted stems:

1. Place the stem in boiling water and let it sit for about 30 minutes. That didn’t work for me.

2. Place the stem in ice water and let it sit for about 30 minutes. That didn’t work either.

3. Submerge the flower bulb in water and let it soak for about 30 minutes. Didn’t work.

Hydrangeas3

Here’s what worked for me. First, remove some of the leaves (that’s just one less part sucking up much needed water). Next, trim an inch off of the stem using sharp gardening shears (dull scissors can crush the stem and you want a clean cut). Then, using a knife, scrape the sides of the stem until the white part inside is exposed. Start about 2-3 inches up from the bottom and work your way down. This will help the hydrangea suck up water better and revived my wilted flower!

Hydrangeas2

 Before and after scraping the stem

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

